Tips & Tutorials

Automatically Delete Google Location, Web and App History / Activity

Here are simple tips to automatically delete your Google History (Location, Web and App). Back in May, Google, as part of a commitment to give its millions of users more control over their privacy and data retention, said it would soon allow certain sets of data to be deleted automatically after a certain period. That feature is now live, and it’s available for Web and App Activity, along with Location data. Here’s what you need to know about the service, and how to set the data to be deleted automatically.

Basically, anything you do when you’re logged into your Google account gets tracked, be it on the web or on your phone. Google puts this information into a timeline on its My Activity page, where you can see pretty much everything you’ve done in a Chrome browser, on Google Maps, or Google Play. If you’re not familiar with Google’s My Activity page, brace yourself — it’s quite scary seeing just how much of your life Google is tracking. If you have an Android phone, it takes things to an even greater extreme, by logging every app you open, too.

Delete Google Location, Web, App History

Google says that Web & App Activity is tracked in order “to give you more personalised experiences, like faster searches and more helpful app and content recommendations.” In other words, because it knows things about the apps you use, the products you search for, and the things you buy, it can offer more relevant ads and populate the Google Feed with better content.

New Tools By Google

You’ve always been able to delete your Web & App Activity, along with your Location History, en masse, but Google’s now providing the option of doing the dirty work for you on a regular cadence — every three months or 18 months, depending on your preference.

Here’s how to do it for both Web & App Activity and Location History.

How to Automatically Delete Google Web and App History

Step 1 – Go to the My Activity portal on your phone or desktop.

Step 2 – Under the Web & App Activity banner, select Choose how long to keep.

Step 3 – Select the length of time you’d like Google to keep your new data — 3 months or 18 months.

Step 4 – Ensure you’re happy with your choice and press Confirm.

Note: that by selecting 3 months or 18 months, any Web & App Activity stored longer than that will be deleted.

How to Automatically Delete Location History

Step 1 – Open up Google Maps on your phone.

Step 2 – Tap Menu in the left-side hamburger menu (three lines).

Step 3 – Choose Your timeline.

Step 4 – Tap the three-dot More button.

Step 5 – Tap Settings and privacy.

Step 6 – Tap on Location settings.

Step 7 – Tap Automatically delete Location History.

Step 8 – Select the length of time you’d like Google to keep your new data — 3 months or 18 months.

Step 9 – Ensure you’re happy with your choice and press Confirm.

If you have any question regarding this, then fell free to drop a comment below.

About the author

Rohail Khan

A football lover, Writer and a great photographer. Gaming all the way. Really love to travel the world.